Victim Compensation for Massachusetts Crimes - Statutory Allowances
If you have been the victim of a violent crime committed
in Massachusetts you may be entitled to up to $25,000 compensation
by the State of Massachusetts.
Who is eligible?
Victims of violent crime occurring in Massachusetts
Dependents and family members of homicide victims
Any person responsible for the funeral expenses of a homicide victim
What are the requirements?
The crime must have been reported to police within five days unless
there is good cause for delay.
You must cooperate with law enforcement officials in the investigation
and prosecution of the crime unless there is a reasonable excuse
not to cooperate.
You must apply for compensation within three years of the crime.
Victims under the age of 18 at the time of the crime may apply until
age 21, or later in certain limited circumstances.
What expenses are covered?
To the extent insurance or other funds do not cover your expenses,
you may be reimbursed for:
Medical and dental expenses (including equipment, supplies and medications)
Counseling expenses (for victims, for family members of homicide
victims, and for children who witness violence against a family
Funeral/burial costs up to $4,000
Lost wages (for victims only)
Loss of financial support (for dependents of homicide victims)
Expenses not covered: property losses, compensation for pain
and suffering, and all other losses.
There are in addition,
private civil remedies for certain type of assault related injuries
such as Rape,and Assault: Institutions must adequately secure you
from these violent assaults; if they don't a you may have a civil
case for money damages. Click here if you have been the victim of
or sexual assault; or fill out the form below:
WE CAN HELP YOU!
for more info, please fill out our case form: